Italian Quirks

I’ve been living in Italy for over three months now so I think its fair for me to share some of the weirder parts of Italian culture. Some of these things really bothered me once I got here, but the more time I spend here the less of a big deal these things become. Here goes a list in no particular order:

1. When you are buying produce in the grocery store, you have to weigh it at a machine, punch in its special code and have it print out a sticker that gets scanned at the cashier. If you dare try to simply put your produce in a bag and bring it up to the cashier they’ll get super mad at you and make you run back and print the label and absolutely everyone in line will hate you. (Or so I’ve heard 🙂 ).

2. Italians dress for the season and not the weather. So that means it could be 60+ degrees out and Italians are still wearing a parka because its March. Although, It’s almost the end of April and I still see Italians wearing big coats and weather is consistently in the 70s. Go figure. Below is a perfect example. My roommate Jaclyn is wearing a sundress over a swimsuit and the Italian woman is wearing a puffy coat. Like what?

IMG_2322

3. You have to pay for water at restaurants. Even tap water. Don’t get me started on this. (But on the plus size we don’t tip here.)

4. You will always always pay extra for plastic bags at any grocery.

5. Most cashier stations have a dish next to it where the cashier will put your change and receipt. They usually won’t just hand it to you.

IMG_8850

6. This Italian computer keyboard. It took me weeks to learn how to use the  @ symbol. (Hint:  Hold down the ‘AltGr’ key) I couldn’t get the picture to flip but hopefully you get the point.

IMG_8865

7. No one knows how to drive it Italy. Literally no one.

8. Italians hate making change! Like is your bill is 5.10 euro and you pay with a 10 you’ll get a the dirtiest look.

9. If you sit down at a café , you will almost always have to pay more. If you choose to stand a the bar and drink your cappuccino it’ll save you some euro.

10. Italy has a very strict recycling system. Every residence has multiple bins where you have to sort ALL of your garbage (metal, plastic, glass/ paper/ compost/ non recyclables) If you mess this up consistently the city will fine you. If you live in an apartment, your whole building will be fined!)

I have to say that the quirks in Italian culture are what make it so interesting to live here. Everyday I’m learning something new about this different way of life. Italy always keeps me on my toes, that’s for sure.

IMG_2348

(On a related note, I keep imagining me using ‘Ciao’ or ‘Grazie’ back in the States and feeling like an idiot, but its so engrained in me, I don’t know how I’ll just be able to stop being ‘Italian Emily’ on May 19th.)

Tell me what you think!